T.C. Williams High School Crew
Search TCW Crew Website

2009 News

Congratulations to Mary Ball and Matt Schilling, honored by the Alexandria Sportsmans Club as Athletes of the Year for crew.  They join Tierra Ruffin-Pratt and Edward Jenkins (basketball), Larry Dow (swim/dive) and Tynita Butts (girls' track) as this year's honorees.

New TCW Shells Named for Middle Schools

The newest members of the TCW fleet were christened Sunday afternoon, March 29, in a brief ceremony at the Dee Campbell Rowing Center.

The George Washington and the Francis C. Hammond, Vespoli Millennium2 four-oared shells, carry names rich with meaning in Alexandria.  Both namesakes were war heroes, and both provided names for Alexandria public school.  These were the schools were scholastic rowing began in the Washington, DC region over 60 years ago, and today, as middle schools, they provide a rich well of new talent for the crew program.

The George Washington was christened by Keisha Boggan, principal at George Washington Middle School.  Acting principal Sara Schafer christened the shell that bears her school's name, Francis C. Hammond.  Also participating were John Porter, ACPS Assistant Superintendent for Planning and Operations, and Margaret Walsh, ACPS Executive Director, Secondary. 

Click here to see a copy of the program, and here to view more photos.

Copyright 2013 Alexandria Crew Boosters Club, Inc. - PO Box 3202, Alexandria, VA  22302. Comments and suggestions are always welcome. Contact the webmaster.